TMA Results Officially Make Me An Old-Schooler

Well, the Tejano Music Awards have come and gone and it looks like the big winner was Elida Reyna of Valley-based group, Elida y Avante. Along with her four TMAs, there were a lot of “new” winners–some have been around a while, while others are names that have been floating around a little less.

Especially if you are an avid listener of Tejano internet radio (and those lucky ones in cities with Tejano radio stations), then you will know most, if not all, of the line-up of winners. But one thing is for sure, other than being an “Elida” fan, since she started her career, as well as The Hometown Boys, I think the results now make me an official old-schooler, since mega stars like Jay Perez (DC-Reviewed) didn’t end up with a TMA.

As easy as it would be, I won’t be a hater. I’ll just congratulate the winners, and maybe start opening my ears a little more. Bottom line, the prove that the Tejano-genre is not dying and that fans do indeed rule.

Here are the TMA winners:

32nd Annual Tejano Music Awards Winners:

Elsa Garcia
Mingo Saldivar
Johnny Canales

Song of the Year – Juntos Hasta Morir – Elida Reyna & Jesse Turner

Male Vocalist of the Year – Jesse Turner (Siggno)

Female Vocalist of the Year – Elida Reyna

Entertainer of the Year – Elida Reyna

Album of the Year – Tejano – Lo Que Me Dejaste – Siggno

Album of the Year – Conjunto – Manteniendo La Promesa – The Hometown Boys

Vocal Duo of the Year – Elida Reyna & Jesse Turner – Juntos Hasta Morir

Best New Male – Ricky Valenz

Best New Female – Jessica Sanchez

Best New Group – Tejano Highway 281

Winning Duo:

Best New Female:  Jessica Sanchez

Best New Male:  Ricky Valenz

Best New Group:  Tejano Highway 281


Comments are closed.